Bon Hiver

Bon Hiver is a traditional French greeting which translates as “Good Winter”.   I love the idea of looking at the winter season as something other than when Christmas takes place-especially since corporate entities seem to intent upon pushing the ante up on the Christmas season every year.  It’s not that I don’t like Christmas but, at least this year, I was relieved when it was all over and there was down time to reflect on the year just passed, and to contemplate the one coming.

Our winter holidays involved a lot of visiting with family and with friends old and new; road trips to places both strange and familiar; and the time to really think on what is worth making time for and effort toward and what is absolutely not.  They don’t call it Epiphany for nothing.

I’m not holding myself to a January 1st deadline for making resolutions for this brand new year.  I’m still thinking it over and focusing upon looking for the doors opening up for me rather than looking back at the ones that have closed behind.

For the time being I am going to strive to let go of those things that serve no good purpose in my life and to hold on to those precious things that prove to me constantly that I am blessed.

I am grateful and hopeful for this coming year.

Bon Hiver.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

